U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Hall Of Fame, 2019 Includes Two Skiers And Two More From Other Winter Sports

Yesterday, September 23, the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Committee announced the inductees for the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Hall of Fame, Class of 2019. Of the 13 inductees, two were from the world of skiing.

Both athletes competed in skiing events at Paralympics games throughout the years. Candace Cable (Para alpine skiing, Para Nordic skiing, Para track and field) is a nine-time Paralympian in three sports. She was the first U.S. woman to win medals in both the Summer and Winter Paralympic Games with a total of 12 medals, 8 of which were gold. Cable is also the first Nordic skier to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Chris Waddell (Para alpine skiing, Para track and field), a 7-time Paralympian, also competed in both the Summer and Winter Paralympic Games having earned a total of 13 medals, 12 of which were in alpine skiing and one in track and field. Waddell is also the most decorated male monoskier in U.S. history, being a three-time alpine world champion and 32-time national champion.

The rest of the Hall of Fame, Class of 2019, includes two other winter sports inductees, Apolo Anton Ohno (short track speedskating) and the 1998 U.S. Olympic Women's Ice Hockey Team. The other inductees represent events from across the whole of Olympic and Paralympic competition. They are Lisa Leslie (basketball), Nastia Liukin (gymnastics), Misty May-Treanor (beach volleyball), Erin Popovich (Para swimming), Dara Torres (swimming), John Carlos (legend: track and field), Tommie Smith (legend: track and field), Ron O’Brien (coach: diving) and Tim Nugent (special contributor).

“The U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Hall of Fame represents the pinnacle of competitive excellence in our nation, and its inspiring members are champions who have transcended sport through the legacy they leave both on and off the field of play,” said USOPC CEO Sarah Hirshland. “It’s an honor to welcome the class of 2019 into this prestigious and celebrated honor roll. We thank them for their impact on sport and society, and for continuing to inspire the next generation of athletes and fans.”
The class of 2019 has represented the United States at a combined 36 Olympic and Paralympic Games, tallying 79 medals including 43 golds. There are also two new sports or sports disciplines added to the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Hall of Fame. Ohno is the first short track speedskater to be inducted.  
The 13 inductees were determined by a voting process that includes Olympians and Paralympians, members of the U.S. Olympic and Paralympic family, and an online vote open to fans. The U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Hall of Fame was one of the first national sports halls of fame to include fan voting as part of its selection process, and this year, nearly 200,000 votes were cast at TeamUSA.org/vote.
This will be the 16th class inducted into the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Hall of Fame, bringing the total to 154 inductees (individuals and teams). The first class was inducted in 1983.
These athletes and contributors will be honored and officially inducted at an awards dinner Friday, November 1, at the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, CO.

Photo Credit: U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Committee


Please check out the Ski Rex Media sponsors and partners. I love these folks and I think you would, too.